Home > Anime > Summer 2010 Anime Preview thoughts

Summer 2010 Anime Preview thoughts

So with some of the shows for Summer anime block about to air pre-broadcast episodes ones I thought I might as well get this out of the way.  As Standard Operating Procedure (S.O.P.), I’ll write proper synapses after they air, these are just my thoughts on the shows I’ll be watching this summer season.  Oh and a bit of warning, I may do something different for the guide.  I’ll figure that out later though.

Amagami SS – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: 07/01)

(Alt. アマガミSS) : School life dating stuff, meh to me.  Art’s nice but beyond that I’m a bit dubious to the story although I have to give them props for doing an “omnibus” style of story telling but this could be more of a compromise in favor of the source material (dating game with multiple arcs, think Higarashi).  Animation from AIC which can be hit and miss since they do so many shows.

Asobi ni Iku yo! – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt. あそびにいくヨ, or something like “Let’s go Play!”) : Some parts of the synapse are unique and some are dreadfully over used.  Personally I’m not expecting much.  I think it’ll be entertaining, but beyond that… I wouldn’t go any farther then that, and I’m thinking it’s going to be the brain dead kind of entertaining.  Animation is handled by AIC Plus+ which I’m not exactly familiar with and I’m too lazy to do my research (so blah).  Bonus point for having Sphere doing the OP, I liked REALOVE:REALIFE, the OP for Demon King Daimou.  As long as they keep to the pop rock sound I’ll be happy.

Highschool of the Dead – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt. 学園黙示録 HIGHSCHOOL OF THE DEAD/Gakuen Mokushiroku – Highschool of the Dead) : Zombies and every girl with a giant rack oh my.  From the preview it looks good (although the giant bouncing, sometimes for no good reason, tits might be a distraction).  Personally I’m looking foreword to the zombie killing.  Animation is being handled by Madhouse and I have a good amount of respect for them.  They might not make the slickest TV animation but they do a very good job normally.

The Legend of the Legendary Heroes – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: 07/01)

(Alt. 伝説の勇者の伝説/Densetsu no Yuusha no Densetsu) : A bit redundant in the title so I’m hoping for a parody/satire type thing of the fantasy genre, other wise this might be a very short trip.  More then likely this isn’t the case but we can always hope, can’t we?  Anyways sounds pretty average to me but we’ll see.  Animation is handled by ZEXCS which did Omamori Himari Winter 2010 and if memory serves Chrome Shelled Regios from Winter 2009.  That tells me not to expect excellent animation but serviceable at least.  (By the way my short hand for this one is going to Legend Legendary)

Mitsudomoe – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt. みつどもえ) : As long as it doesn’t turn into a Kodomo no Jikan I’d be happy.  Beyond that I have no idea of what to say other then I have to disagrea with Author that it looks like Hanamura Kindergarten.

Nurarihyon no Mago – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt. ぬらりひょんの孫) : Everything about this shouts shonen junk.  I’ll give it a very unenthusiastic try anyways.  Animation handled by Studio DEEN which has a wonky track record with me.

Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date 07/01)

(Alt. オオカミさんと七人の仲間たち) : Probably not bad but I’m not that big a fan of tsundere archetype of character.  Anyways this is probably the third most looked forward show this season.  Animation by J.C. Staff so they know what they are doing (more then likely anyway).

Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt. Occult Academy, 世紀末オカルト学院) : The third show slated for the Anime no Chikara block.  It’s an original story (like the others) animated by A-1 Pictures.  Beyond the knowledge of it being set in a school and is about the occult I got nothing (and all that can be learned from the title).

Seitokai Yakuindomo – [ANN] [MAL] (Are date: 07/03)

(Alt. 生徒会役員共) : Umm… is it me or does the synapse sound like Seitokai no Ichizon.  At least it doesn’t look like moe junk and hopefully the characters have more depth too them then in Ichizon.  This falls under it may be good or may not be category for me but more then likely it’s just going to meh.  Animation by GoHands which did Princess Lover (and nothing else yet really) and is going to be doing Mardock Scramble which I’m looking foreword to.

Shiki – [ANN] [MAL]

(Alt. 屍鬼, trans. Shi(屍)=Corpse, Ki(鬼)=Oni/demon) : More then likely I’m drawn more to the title Shiki then the show itself original (as in Shiki Ryougi from KnK, ya it’s a differnt shiki-式) but the original manga is written by Fuyumi Ono and that gives it points (to this day the first 12 Kingdoms book is one of the only books I’ve read in one day).  Anyways Shiki and Highschool of the Dead are my top two picks right now.

Shukufuku no Campanella – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt. 祝福のカンパネラ) : KNEE-JERK REACTION: Not going to watch.  Oh wait there have been a few adult games made into anime that aren’t that bad.  How ever I think this one isn’t going to be one but I’ll watch the first episode at least.  Animation from AIC so recycle what ever I said about them.

Strike Witches 2 – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt: ストライクウィッチーズ 2期, Strike Witches 2Ki) : The only continuation of a show I’ll be watching this season thanks to LegacyTyphoon sharing the first season with me.  Hopefully AIC fixes the half ass-ed ending of the first season (it’s Gonzo, kind of to be expected from them).  Once again animation is by AIC so again recycle what ever I said about them, although considering how well season one sold in Japan, I’m going to go out on a limb and say they might put some extra effort into it.

Tono to Issho – [ANN] [MAL](Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt. 殿といっしょ) : Ehhh… not sure about the art style but I’ll give it a shot.  This is also a title I’ll be on the fence about.  Their is an OAV out so I may check that out soon.

Osaka Hamlet – [ANN] [MAL] (Air date: sometime in July?)

(Alt. 大阪ハムレット) : I may or not watch it.  The art doesn’t fit my taste at all so don’t expect to see it, that being said I’ll probably will watch it for the guide.

Shows I’m not going to watch (for one reason or another)

Sengoku Basara Season 2 – [ANN] [MAL]

Never got past the first couple of episodes and I don’t think I’ll every try.  It’s a good show with great animation but just not my thing.

Kuroshitsuji 2 – [ANN] [MAL]

Never got past the first FIVE MINUTES of the first episode let alone the whole episode.

Sekirei ~Pure Engagement~ – [ANN] [MAL]

Couldn’t get past the giant breasts of the characters in the first episode of the first season.

Categories: Anime
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

