Home > Anime > The correlation between Gurran Lagann and Kara no Kyoukai

The correlation between Gurran Lagann and Kara no Kyoukai

This morning as I was progressing through my morning routine, a particular article caught my attention on Anime News Network.  The article was announcing that Aniplex, which had established a stateside division earlier, is planning to release the two Gurran Lagann movies this July and the titles (for now) are exclusive to the Bandai Ent. e-commerce store (there’s also art and links plastered on ANN which you can’t miss, now that I think about it I think I read those first actually and saw the early bird special part).  So you might be wondering at this point how Kara no Kyoukai movie series which I HIGHLY recommend (to the point of beating you over the head with it) comes into the picture.

Well we are going to have to take a step back to around this time last year.  At Anime Boston 2009, one of the music guests was Kalafina, the group who performs the ending theme songs for all KnK movies, and also there on the industry side is Aniplex, premiering the fifth Kara no Kyoukai movie “Spiral Paradox”.  I saw this as Aniplex doing two things.  Shopping around the KnK franchise to distributors (maybe) and gauging the American audience in interest of the series (more likely now that I think about it).  Now we are back to today.  Reading through the article and I come to the question posed about whether or not Aniplex is planning on licensing any other titles and releasing them.  The answer was “Absolutely” followed later on with the promise of five other series in between now and March 2011.  If my observation of the anime/manga market over the past decade plus some is worth anything, I’m betting that one or more of those titles is Kara no Kyoukai.  Now we just have to wait and see how well the TTGL movies sell and hopefully we’ll get too see a domestic release of Kara no Kyoukai in the near future.  I don’t know about you but I’m going to pre-order those special editions off of Bandai’s store when I have the money to do so.

Categories: Anime Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

