Home > Anime > Fall 2009/ Winter 2010 Anime Season Final

Fall 2009/ Winter 2010 Anime Season Final

One more season down.  Here are my thoughts on the two shows from Fall 2009 I followed and the shows from Winter 2010 that I didn’t drop.  This is going to be an ongoing post so check back to see if it updated.  the last guarantied update will be for Hanamura on Sunday (04/04), but I’ll have to wait for FUNimation for BakaTest and Vampire Bund FUNi posted Vampire Bund Friday (04/09), did and done.

A Certain Scientific Railgun (Toaru Kageku no Railgun) (Fall 2009 season)

I pretty much enjoyed this series thought, although it dragged on a little bit around episode 16 with filler side stories, mostly yuri centric, but picked up at around episode 18 and ended very strong.  Despite those filler stories, it shined when it was in one of its two story arcs.  I have to say that as far as the end material is concerned the original author had learned his lessons well after writing Index and applied them well when writing Railgun.  One thing I would have liked to see was more interaction between Touma and Misaka.  I feel we only got one good episode out of that with, I think, episode five.  Otherwise his only other significant appearances were to serve as plot armor one episode and to help Misaka get over her stage fright in another.

Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu (BAKA and TEST – Summon the Beasts)

This is a great fun light series with a great sense of humor.  I was a bit surprised by how good it was (being a moe show), but it’s nice to be proven wrong sometimes.  I can’t wait till the second season hits in summer.  I highly recommend this show to any anime fan unless they have a severe reaction to moe.  If it’s flat out good I don’t write too much about it do I.

Dance in the Vampire Bund

Not too bad as long as you can ignore nakedlolivampiregirl (no it’s not attractive to walk around in nothing when you look like a nine year old).  The main draw for me was the direction of the series which is the norm for SHAFT/Akiyuki Shinbo shows.  Beyond the cinematography and animation the story was okay.  Not the greatest thing but it was entertaining enough for me to want to finish it but beyond that, I don’t really know if I would want to own it, the whole nakedlolivampiregirl being a bit of a turn off, but I could always change my mind.  All in all, not that bad, but with some questionable content that prevents it from scoring higher for me.

Durarara!!

This show is the awesome.  It has a slower pace from what I’ve seen in Baccano! and nice atmosphere.  Plus you get to see the two thieves from Baccano! doing their act in episode 11 which has nice touch.  There were also all kinds of reverences too various other properties including Club to Death Angel Dokoro-chan, Ladies Versus Butlers, Jigoku Shoujo (Hell Girl), Index/Railgun, Yozukura Quartet and of course Baccano!, plus more.  This show will continue to be a must watch for me and qualifies as a “I hit you over the head multiple times” recommendation.  As it stands this is the only show I’ll be seriously following into the next season.

Hanamura Kindergarten

A pretty cute show (as long as you ignore Anzu’s mom egging her on to pursue Tsuchida).  It was nice and light bit of entertainment in a similar vein as Yotsubo&!.  The ending was a little too open ended but for my tastes, but, eh it’s a 12 episode series passed on a 4-koma, and as far as open ended endings go, I’ve seen worse.  All in all a nice light show to pass away the time with and not think too deeply about.

Hidamari Sketch × ☆☆ (Hoshimitsu)

It’s the same old same old, with two new main characters and an additional teacher in the background to gives Yoshinara-sensei someone to talk to other then the school nurse (or whatever they are).  What I can say it is though is nice little fluffy piece of entertainment and is nice little treat to watch if your annoyed with life.  GA might have done it better but this isn’t a show to lightly pass up I think, but personal opinion and I’m generally biased toward shows about art students to whatever degree they take it.

Kimi ni Todoke (Fall 2009 season)

This was a really sweet show that I would probably never had watched if I wasn’t doing these presentations for UNMAC, and I’m really happy to have watched this one.  Two things I liked about it were the nice slow pace and the low key melodrama that played out.  Plus the nice sense of humor when dealing with the characters was a nice touch along with some nice animation from Production I.G.  The final episode doesn’t end on a giant note but that’s never been the way for this show and having this nice soft ending for a generally soft shoujo show works for me.  Now to get around to watching Honey and Clover, kind of wishing that Viz would have sales on their DVDs on rightstuf.com.

Nodame Cantabile – Finale

The final episode feels rather rushed and needed another episode to fill out really, plus they mess up some of the animation during a piano shot in the last episode, but all complaints aside it was nice show.  Not the best for animation but it did an okay job and it was more about the characters and music than anything else.

Omamori Himari

I’m not quite sure why I kept watching this show, oh wait, I’m the kind of guy who doesn’t drop something unless it’s really bad.  It’s really average except for the naked loli in two or three episodes.  They did do a good job at least depicting panties (like Rosario Vampire) but it seems none of the female characters wear a bra.  All in all a pretty average fan-service action show with naked loli content.  Would I re-watch it, not very likely, would I watch a second season, probably no.

Ookamikakushi

Never could really get into. It’s on hold for the time being but more than likely I’ll just forget about it.  It wasn’t out right bad but wasn’t exceptional ether and just didn’t have anything new for me at the time.

Seikon no Qwaser

Read my edit note posts, you should be able to get the idea of what I think of the show.

Sora no Woto (So-Ra-No-Wo-To)

This was kind of a surprise series for me.  The series takes awhile to get going, mainly around episode seven, but it finally starts to build tension after that and ends the main story in episode twelve gracefully.  I do recommend watching it but keep in mind you are going to exercise a good bit of patience with the show as it progresses at its own pace.

UPDATE 04/01 11:20 AM: Added my thoughts after finishing Omamori Himari

UPDATE 04/01 09:10 PM: Added my thougths on Kimi ni Todoke

UPDATE 04/04 05:50PM: Added Hanamura Kindergarten

UPDATE 04/07 01:20PM: Added Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu

UPDATE 04/09 03:35PM: Added Dance in the Vampire Bund

Categories: Anime Tags: ,
  1. April 13, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Need to see the Hideyoshi thing. Is Hideyoshi a new kind of gender, as I read from other blogs, that might be a trap.

    I’ll eventually look at the series.

  2. April 13, 2010 at 1:02 am

    Hideyoshi, as you may have read, is a very effeminate boy who is part of the drama club and plays mostly female characters. He is so effeminate that most characters assume, and continue to persist after he tells them they are wrong, that he is female. The only character to assume correctly, as far as I know, that he was a boy was Akihisa’s older sister but is quickly “corrected”. Also in one episode when they go to the pool (I think) they set up a separate changing room for Hideyoshi to change in complete with a sign, hence the new kind of gender joke;)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

