Home > Anime > Wagaya no Oinari-sama (Finsihed)

Wagaya no Oinari-sama (Finsihed)

So just finished Oinari-sama, and I have to say It’s a rather enjoyably series. It’s a kind of combination Japanese folklore and slice-of-life show with a slow pace.  The story follows Tenko-sama, an astral fox, as she watches the Takagami siblings, the sons of a her last caretaker while confide by Miduchi family.  She is released by the Miduchi family to protect Noboru and Tooru from specters/youkai and other supernatural beings that want to taste the Miduchi blood.  The story is broken up in 2 or so episode long arcs that make it pretty easy to get into if you need to take a break from it although there isn’t much of an over-arching story line, but that’s were the slice of life type of content comes in.

It’s rather unfortunate that it hasn’t been brought out here, I’m betting Kadokawa Pictures USA never found anyone to distribute it because it was a little too “Japanese” (although I personally would buy it in a heart beat).  If I remember correctly it came out around the same time as Spice and Wolf (1st season) and I originally confused it with Spice and Wolf so I was late in seeing it and only saw the first 3 episodes before it was licensed.

It’s a shame that it never did get out but I can see why it wouldn’t get picked for distribution.  Kami-chu, I believe didn’t do so well in the sales area, and that being of similar in theme would be an indication as to why Oinari-sama failed to secure a US release.  But then again I could be wrong and I’m reading too much into it.

Well anyway it’s a good show and it should be seen.

  1. Jan
    February 18, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Hey Tomas!

    Glad you gave me your blog address. I read this entry on Wagaya no Oinarisama, not a title I had heard about before. I watched one episode, then the next one… and it snuck up on me like anime crack, until I had to watched all of episodes. Your right – a good show that should be watched.

    I heard it has be picked up by NIS America for release here at some undisclosed date.

    Yeahhh.

    Have to watch Kara no Kyoukai next,

    Sounds like Qwaser edits are stealing your soul. Run away. Run away before it’s too late.

    Jan

  2. February 18, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Yep, it is a rather charming show that went under most peoples radars with Spice and Wolf getting most of the attention that season. And I’m really happy about NIS America picking it up, I had lost all hope that it would be released here when Kadokawa Pictures closed their doors. I would like to see what they do with it in terms of extras. Just kind of hopping they don’t pull what Bandai Visual USA tried. Oh hay, ANN just did a podcast with NISA (now I really need to catch up)

    And once again I do HIGHLY recommend Kara no Kyoukai. Now I just have to wait for the novel/s to be published by Del Ray (probably same time when the movies get licensed, still waiting on epilogue I guess).

    It’s mostly trying to catch up that’s kind of killing me, after that it’ll be once a week plus when ever the chibi-doki releases uncensored version, just two more episodes to go. Just wait till I do episode four. With all the edits I’m starting to pick up now it’s going to be a long list.

    Back to MS Gundam for the time being.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

